Why The Meetings Matter

Confession time.

I almost quit Weight Watchers.

Today.

Last week, I had vertigo. Because I’m crazy or stupid, or some dangerous combination of both, I got myself ready for my meeting. I had an awesome corn and bean salsa I made to share with the folks at my meeting. As long as I didn’t make any sudden moves with my head I was fine. I had just left the bathroom after getting my hair ready and walked out onto the landing. I spied a Lego at the top of the stairs. Every person who has ever stepped on one of those suckers in bare feet knows that they make the bad words spill out like a river. I bent over to pick it up, yelling down to the boys that they need to be more careful and pick up their toys. Then I stood up. The world took a spin. I took a nose-dive down the stairs.

Then today about an hour before I had to leave to go to the meeting I felt the tendrils of a migraine I’ve been fighting for the last few days begin to stir. I had taken all the medicine I could so there weren’t any more options. I laid down on the couch, in the dark and the bad thoughts came back. The inner monologue started. You know the one.

You’ve been absent for the last three weeks.
You’ve eaten like shit for the last week.
You’ve not exercised in a week.
You’re getting fatter.
You should just quit.
You’re not taking it seriously.
You’re slacking.
You’re wasting the money on membership.
You’ll never lose weight.
Why are you even trying?
Why go when you KNOW you’re going to step on that scale and you’ll have gained back all the weight you lost?

But I got up.

I went.

Why?

Because my friend Diane messaged me this morning reminding me that I promised to be there.
Because I told her I would as long as I didn’t throw myself down the stairs again.
Because Lynn would wonder where I was and probably message me, too.
Because there is a reason peer pressure works, dammit.

Meetings give you a sense of community and belonging. Those folks in those meetings become a sort of family. Sure, you don’t know everyone’s name. You may not even like every person in that room. But they are there. They will bolster you. They will tell you you’re awesome even when you don’t feel like it.

They’ll do what they did for me today. They’ll hug you and congratulate you on the LOSS you had after three absent weeks, no exercise and feeling like crap healthwise.

They’ll help you give the finger to that inner monologue.

She’s a pretty mouthy bitch, anyway. Why are we even listening to her?

*********************************************************
TIPS THAT I SUSPECT HELPED ME LOSE EVEN THOUGH…..

1. I gave up fries. Even those delicious McDonald’s sin sticks.

2. I eat off a segmented baby plate. Laugh now, but it’s hard to go all portion crazy when your plate is smaller than your head.

3. When I order a sandwich from a restaurant, half the meat gets taken off. Either I put it on somebody’s plate or I put it somewhere gross like a used coffee cup so I won’t be tempted to put it back on.

4. I drink only water. Diet pop is a treat for once a week. Even though it has no points it still isn’t good for you.

5. I tell the waitress not to even bother bringing the bread to the table. I don’t want the temptation.

**********************************************************

Wonder what other stuff I write about? Hop on over to http://www.mirandagargasz.wordpress.com and follow me to find out!

6 thoughts on “Why The Meetings Matter

  1. I think that accountability is key! I find that blogging provides that for me as well. Sounds like you are making some great life changes. Any time that inner dialogue starts, replace it with reminding yourself of all the accomplishments you’ve had thus far!

  2. This is great and I am so proud of you for going to that meeting! I know about that inner monologue all to well. And sometimes you just have to tell her to shut up! Slip ups happen, but all you can so is pick yourself up and keep moving forward. Keep after it. As I can see just those 5 things you have done to change are HUGE ☺

  3. I am sure that the group support is key to your continued success. You have had a lot of things that threaten to deter you and pardon the pun–weigh you down—-but that support is vital to you. God bless those folks who make sure you know that they miss you and want you to succeed in this journey!!! You go, girl!

Leave a Reply

