Ding! Ding! Ding! Round Two!

There’s no hot, bikini clad babe at the beginning holding a sign up here.  Just me, in my jammies, saying “Good Morning Friday!” and welcoming a 6.8 pound weight loss for my second weigh in!  Woo hoo!  That makes a grand total of 5 lbs. lost.  What I want to know is, why can’t I be that exact when it comes to lottery numbers?

What did I do differently this week that helped me lose instead of gain?  Good question.  Anybody have an answer?  Lord knows, I have no clue.  Truly.  I still tracked.  I still chose good options.  The Gods of Weight Loss smiled on me.  That’s what I’m going with.

I am so happy to be attending meetings this time around with Weight Watchers.  While my leader, JoAnna, is too funny and always worth a giggle or two, what I find most motivating are the stories of other members’ weight loss.  There are a few people just finishing up a victory lap with cancer treatment, all blood tests coming back clean.  Cancer, people!  Here I am whining about points and these people are trying to lose weight AND fight for their lives.  Luckily, humility doesn’t cost one single point.

As Weight Watchers members, our collective goal is to commit to activity.  Here’s where things get tricky for me.  On a great day, exercise is not my friend.  We hate each other, quite frankly.  This week is not a good week for my body.  Because PCOS makes my life a pain in the butt (almost literally), I’ve been battling sciatica.  Soaring estrogen levels in my body the week before my period gift me with this little nuisance.  Just rolling over in bed becomes a feat with the primary goal of not screaming out loud at the pain.  Sitting hurts.  Standing hurts.  Walking hurts.  And NOTHING helps with the pain.  Not NSAIDs and not painkillers.  I just have to muddle through.  Commitment to activity will have to wait for me because, remember, I have to embrace the things I CAN’T do, also.  Until the sciatica passes, my commitment to activity will be to move as much as I can physically bear right now.

Just keep tracking!

Just keep tracking!

Looking on to my next week, my goal is to just keep tracking.  I recently told a friend that I feel like Dory in Finding Nemo.

Just keep tracking.

Just keep tracking.

What do we do?

We traaaack…..

Photo credit:  photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebeest/1356896414/”>beest</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Losing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ding! Ding! Ding! Round Two!

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Good for you!!! You can do this!!!

  2. kelly says:

    Miranda, I am sooooo proud of you keep it up chickie !!

  3. Hooray for you, Sista!!!!!!!!! I’m cheering, too–as is Sara. Even your buddy Ralph is in on the act. We lead him in morning cheers every day before breadfast. Okay, that last part may not be totally true. I may be forced to eat those works, but I think you get the picture. LOL

    I also note how great your writing is in these posts. Have you noticed? Well done! We love you, sweetie!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thanks! My writing needed my mental health hiatus, I think. Two months to sweep away the cobwebs and get my mood stabilized has helped in many areas. Tell Ralph I fully expect a nice bow tie to be worn at the wedding. He’s got to dress up for such an event!

  4. Fab weight loss hun! Just keep doing what you’re doing .. so you can’t commit to exercise right now, but you’re doing what you can, you’re tracking and losing! Fantastic! X Hope the sciatica pain eases off a bit for you 😦

Leave a Reply

