Whining Like A Boss

That’s me, whining my way through my weight loss this week.  I sat in my meeting, listening to all the excuses we make to keep ourselves from tracking, when it occurred to me.

 

Oh, my God.

 

Every time I make an excuse to keep from tracking, I morph into my children! 

 

I become this sniveling, little, whiny pain in the butt.  Only instead of complaining that I don’t want to clean my room (even thought I don’t) or whining about not wanting to pick up after myself (even though I don’t), I’m WHINING about tracking my food!  I seriously think my new goal is this:  Get a mirror and every time I don’t want to do what my Weight Watchers program tells me, face myself in the mirror and ‘fess up the reason why.  Maybe if I SEE myself whining like an insolent child it will turn my stomach enough to stop this bad behavior.  Think it will work?

 

The good news is this week I’m down another 4.6 pounds!  Woot!  In addition to whining like a boss this week I have also been tracking like one.  I even tracked on the one day that I went over my points allowance and had no more spare points left.  Talk about guilt.  Lord, have mercy, I punished myself mentally for that foray into the Great Wide Points Oblivion.  The fact was that even though my points allowance was used up I was still hungry.  Why?  Because, let’s be honest, I splurged.  I had sausage and sauerkraut that my husband, the good Polish boy that he is, made for us to eat.  Now, I know what you’re thinking.  Sauerkraut is points free, but nay, nay.  It’s not free when it is made his way, fried in bacon grease.  And sausage, be still your heart, is so high in points it should be forbidden.  But I weighed it.  I counted it.  And I paid for it later when I was starving.

 

All I can say is:  I learned my lesson.  Just like my kids wondering why they can’t afford what they want on the meager allowance they get and spend immediately instead of saving, I learned that all points are not created equal.  If I want to splurge on sausage I had better plan ahead enough to know that I need to save some points because my stomach will undoubtedly let me know that empty points are a bad idea.  To keep myself from dancing into the Great Wide Points Oblivion, I MUST plan ahead.  At all cost.  If I don’t, I’m setting myself up for another mental spanking when there are no more points to burn.

 

Even better news, for me, anyway, is that my sciatica has gone on hiatus!  I cannot tell you what a relief it is to finally be able to walk across the parking lot to my meeting without feeling like someone is stabbing me in the butt with shards of glass.  So what have I done to commit to movement?  Don’t laugh, okay?  I exercise in the tub.  Seriously, I load up the bubbles in my giant bathtub and exercise in the water.  I push on one end with my arms while I curl my legs up under me.  Then, I push with my feet and curl my arms up under me.  It sounds crazy but I’m here to tell ya, I can feel it in my muscles.  This is as good as it gets for me until the weather warms up and I can exercise in the pool.

 

sauerkraut (with porky bits, yum!)

sauerkraut (with porky bits, yum!) (Photo credit: u m a m i)

 

My goal for this week is to add something new to my exercise experiment, like maybe actual exercise.  I’m also going to concentrate on making my points go further.  Will I make those goals?  Probably, as long as I lay off the sausage and ‘kraut.

 

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Losing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Whining Like A Boss

  1. Dianna Gargasz says:

    Great Job Miranda!!! Keep up the good work! Ask Jim to grill out some healthy foods!!

    Dianna

  2. Beth Ann says:

    You are doing great!!! Keep going!

  3. Wilhelmina says:

    You can do it. My daughter and I joined together. We both hit our goal and now she is a Weight Watcher leader

Leave a Reply

