Being too good is sometimes bad

So, yeah, I’m up another 1.6 pounds this week.  Boo.  I am trying very hard not to get discouraged by it, but……….

The last time I had a cute butt.

The last time I had a cute butt.

Speaking of butts, I don’t want you thinking the Giant Golden Butt in the Sky is to blame for this foray into weight gain.  I promise you that lowly little cheeseburger I ate is not responsible for my backsliding this week.  I know EXACTLY what I did wrong this week and it had nothing to do with eating and everything to do with NOT eating.

That’s right.  On four occasions this week I did not hit my points target.  And I’m not talking about a few meager points.  I’m talking about only consuming about two-thirds of what I was supposed to.  Not. Good.  Even though you think eating fewer calories would be good, it’s actually bad.  Consuming fewer calories engages the OCD side of your metabolism.  Your body freaks out and says, “Holy crap, we’re starving!  Start saving that energy as fat RIGHT NOW!”

And even though I know that, I still did it.  Some of it is because I suffer from migraines.  Migraines make me nauseated and who wants to eat then?  Some of it is just that I get busy and literally forget to eat.  With PCOS, it’s easy to do if I never smell food.  People laugh, myself included, that you can gain weight just by smelling food.  Folks, people with PCOS are the living embodiment of that joke.  Even food scented candles can cause our brains to send the message to our pancreas that it’s time to eat and we get an entire boatload of insulin dumped into our systems, which causes sugar and carb cravings, which, if we give into them, causes more insulin to be dumped into our systems and we crave more carbs and sugars, which causes more insulin…….See the vicious cycle?  But, if I am busy and never smell food, my brain never sends me the message that I’m hungry.  Ever.  In fact, I wind up with the opposite problem:  Low blood sugar.  I don’t even notice it until it’s dangerously late and I’ve got the shakes and feel like I want to throw up.  Fun, fun, fun.

So, what to do?  I’m packin’, folks.  That’s right.  I’m bringing my artillery with me in the form of low points snacks packed in my purse and an alarm that will sound on my Nook when I need to eat when I’m out running errands.

It will also help me to avoid the Giant Butt, which is saying a lot.

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/demandaj/5404792589/”>demandaj</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Gaining and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Being too good is sometimes bad

  1. At least you know what happened that caused you to not lose AND you have a plan!! Good for you!

  2. Wonderbutt feels your pain 😉

  3. Anne Kearney says:

    Hey! I’m in your meeting and I have PCOS also. Three times this month I’ve fainted at work because it didn’t occur to me to eat. Several other times I’ve gone on carb binges, but that’s what activity points are for.. right?! I’ve accepted it as something I’m stuck with forever and that being a woman sucks at times, HOWEVER we can stick together in a womanly-sisterly way and push through it. Much love to you!

    • I am so glad you stopped by Anne! Wish you and I had something better in common because PCOS BLOWS! Please introduce yourself to me at the next meeting (I won’t be there until the 23rd because of end of the school year stuff with my kids). You and I are cysters, baby!

Leave a Reply

