Butter and bicycles: my new obsessions

I’ve got so much on my mind to share with you today that I want to begin this post with an apology.  I am sorry for its length, right up front.  Truly, I should break it into two posts, but I need the calorie burn I get from all the typing.

First off, I wanted to talk about last week’s weight gain.  I know.  It’s all part of normal weight loss, however I couldn’t stop beating myself up over it.  The receptionist that weighed me in told me not to be discouraged because I had lost quite a bit the week before, but you know how it goes:  No matter what other people say to be encouraging you’ve still got that evil little voice in your head telling you they’re just trying to be nice.

I shuffled off to my seat to await the beginning of the meeting.  I always arrive early because I’m anal retentive about being late, so I decided to read the little weekly pamphlet to pass the time.  It was all about anchors–the little things that help us remain tethered to our weight loss commitment.  As I read through each story that other members shared I began to wonder what my anchor would be.  One lady had a bracelet, another had a Weight Watchers charm and yet another had a string of colorful paper clips.

It was the paper clip lady that spoke the loudest to me, and not because I have a paper clip fetish.  She said she added one paper clip for each pound she lost.  Then she added the one thing that hit me like a truck:  She imagines each paper clip as one box of butter she has lost from her body.

When I look at the pounds I’ve lost–so far, 8–it seems so arbitrary and meaningless.  When you add the visual of each pound being a box, or four sticks, of butter, eight pounds suddenly becomes something to dance across the room over!  I’ve lost EIGHT BOXES OF BUTTER!

Now if only I could control WHERE I lose the boxes of butter.  How many boxes of butter would I like to lose off my butt?  Let’s leave that answer private, shall we?

medium_216405474

Anyway, all this weight loss talk has gone to my head because I’m seriously beginning to wonder if I’ve lost my mind or my meds need to be adjusted.  I’m excited.  About exercise!

I, Miranda Gargasz, noted exercise-phobe, have made a major purchase.  I just bought an exercise bike.  The purchase of this bike is a major deal for me.  It is the first piece of exercise equipment I’ve ever purchased.  I put it off for some time because 1) they’re expensive and 2) I didn’t want to buy something I wouldn’t use.

How am I going to guarantee I’ll use it?  I’m so glad you asked!

The beginning of next week I’m going to launch my Virtual Bike Adventure Miles.  I’m going to begin a virtual bike ride to all sorts of places, logging my miles here and blogging about it (complete with pictures!) to show you where I’m going on this stationary adventure.  A friend of mine, Mark at www.twohikingidiots.com, did this sort of thing on his blog and, with his blessing, I’m going to do the same here.  It was always very interesting to see the places he had racked up miles to and I thought Plus Size Mama’s readers might enjoy the same.

Are you along for the ride?

 

NOTE:  BECAUSE MY OLDEST SON IS IN A PLAY THIS THURSDAY AND MY YOUNGEST IS IN A PROGRAM NEXT THURSDAY, I WILL BE ATTENDING A DIFFERENT MEETING TIME.  I’M BUMMED NOT TO BE ATTENDING MY REGULAR TIME, BUT I’M INTERESTED TO SEE HOW IT AFFECTS MY MOTIVATION.  I’M SURE I’LL MISS MY THURSDAY NIGHT LADIES (AND GENTS) SO I’LL BE BACK TO THEM THE 23RD.  STAY TUNED.

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/aboyandhisbike/216405474/”>Michael @ NW Lens</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Gaining, Losing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Butter and bicycles: my new obsessions

  1. stacy says:

    Im excited for you! You will do great!

  2. As someone who grew up with a weight-obsessed mother and morphed into a diet diva as a result, I know the discouragement of weight gain! It’s a bitch! But I have EVERY confidence in you, Sista–and I LOVE that paper clip idea!

    And, as I said in the Facebook message I sent you this morning, I’d love you to bike to Ecuador! Think of all the interesing Central American countries you’ll travel through on the way! And a virtual visit will help a bit at our not getting to see you before we left the US.

    I’m hoping to get a post up about our move this week! I miss you, sweetie!

    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • You have had so many exciting things going on in your life these past few months that you must finally feel relaxed enough to breathe! Lordy! You guys are my furthest goal for biking and I will feel a major sense of accomplishment making it that far!

  3. This is such a fabulous idea and I followed “The Idiot” on his and thought it was a wonderful idea. I also am thinking about that “butter”. Ugh. I have become recently more motivated to lose what I need to lose also —maybe a little bit of thanks goes to you! Starting up the walking again and that is a good thing!!! Can’t wait for you to bike to Iowa!

    • I’ve been seeing all that walking you’ve been doing on Facebook! Keep it up, Beth Ann! Your little maps were motivation for me, too, though I can’t for the life of me figure out how that website works, lol. I’m more than a little technologically challenged.

  4. I think Wonderbutt needs to go with you on that virtual ride…

Leave a Reply

