Double Digit Diva

You read that right, folks!  I’ve broken into the double digits of weight loss!

I waltzed in to my weigh-in hoping to have lost anything, even an ounce, after a tough week.  I had convinced myself that I had a tapeworm on Saturday because I ate like crazy, unable to get full.  We had friends over and I overindulged.  I stepped on that scale and immediately started sweating.  When the receptionist told me I lost 2.2 pounds I nearly fell over!

The little evil voice in my head did its job and convinced me, again, that 2.2 pounds is really nothing, that 10 pounds total was no big deal.  Friday, my body said “In your face!” to that voice.

My oldest son, Jimmy, was in the school play (The King and I) and, as much as I wanted to see him, I didn’t look forward to the experience.  Our school system spent a heart stopping 5 million dollars building a new high school (it was 200+ years old–we NEEDED it) with an auditorium complete with stage.  I hate visiting the Performing Arts Center because I don’t like the seats.  The arms dig into my hips because, as we’ve already determined, I’ve got more than a little junk in my trunk.  I usually sit on the edge of my seat to avoid the painful squeeze and jab of the armrests.  medium_2689005397

Not this time.  This time I slid my rather large trunk between those arms like they were greased with butter, baby.  No pain.  No jabbing armrests.  It was heavenly to sit and enjoy seeing my little hambone perform in his play and NOT be uncomfortable.

The next time a cheeseburger begins talking to me, trying to get me to cheat, I’m going to latch on to the memory of sitting comfortably in the PAC.  It will help me convince myself that I don’t need two all beef patties to be what I want to be.

That is an achievement worth more than any cheeseburger I’ve denied myself over these past few weeks.

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/revjim5000/2689005397/”>reynolds.james.e</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

 

 

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Losing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Double Digit Diva

  1. OMG–I’m thrilled for you, Sista! You rock my world. I know only a bit about what this is like–but, god, my heart is with you all the way.

    We are beginning to settle into our temporary home, and Sara began language school today. I thought about calling you yesterday to wish you a happy Mother’s Day, but our internet was too slow. Maybe all of Ecuador’s expaats were Magin-Jacking the mothers they love back home.

    I’m hoping to have a post up tomorrow. ANd will respond to comments soon! I am SOOOOOOO behind.

    We love you!

    Kathy

    • Good to hear that things are getting underway there in Ecuador, Sista! You would not have been able to reach me yesterday anyway so it all worked out. Mother’s Day is a BUSY day for us. I appreciate the thought, though! Can’t wait for you to get back to blogging. I miss you!

  2. Anne Kearney says:

    I used to have the same issue on airplanes. Not anymore sister! It’s nice not to be rubbing buttcheeks with my airplane neighbor also lol.

  3. Keep up the GREAT work Miranda!! You are doing awesome! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

