While I was away

I wanted to drop in and let you know that I haven’t given up on my goals over here.  Life just got in the way.

 

Mile 71 Seward Highway

Not the view from my bike

 

For the last three Thursdays I’ve attended a play and two choir concerts.  Squeezing in a Weight Watcher’s meeting proved much more difficult than I planned.  As a result, I’m up 2.4 pounds.

 

And I could get down on myself about that, but I’m not.  I won’t apologize for letting the efforts of my children take precedence over that meeting.  They are the center of my universe and deserve my support in the form of just being there for them.  It’s my job as a mother.

 

However, for the last three weeks I’ve eaten like crap, disregarded points and just generally misbehaved where food was concerned.  And that I AM sorry for.  I’ve come to treat my food intake much like an addiction.  Truly.  I start to listen to the little voice in my head that loves fatty foods.

 

Once I fall off that WW Wagon it is so much harder to crawl back up there.

 

But I did it.

 

I’m back.

 

I also have to pat myself on the back for one other thing.  My weight gain would have been so much more if it weren’t for one small thing I’ve done:  Ride that godforsaken exercise bike.  I would love to share with you the miles I’ve collected but it seems the electronic doodad that kept those numbers for me just took a dump.  It was somewhere in the neighborhood of 12 miles.  Hence, I am starting all over with my virtual bike riding adventure.  Stay tuned!

 

I started off at half a mile a day (I’m pretty out of shape so, don’t judge me too harshly).  I’m up to a mile and a half a day with the tension cranked up one more number.  Monday I’m going to bump my mileage up to three miles a day.

 

Why am I so sure that this mileage, my meager 12 miles, has helped?  Two reasons.  1)  I have this peculiar muscle shaped bump on the back of my calves that wasn’t there three weeks ago.  2)  I spent 40 minutes walking around the grocery store without needing to sit due to back pain.

 

Booyah, baby!

 

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Gaining, Life Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to While I was away

  1. Good for you! When I fall off, I just pout on the side of the road until another wagon comes along…

  2. ree says:

    Congratulations!!! From experience, I know how hard it is to walk in the door and face that scale once you’ve slacked off. But you did it and for that you should be congratulated! I’ll see you on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

