Weight loss makes me grumpy

Okay, not so much the weight loss, because, let’s face it:  Weight loss is a reason to get up and shake your money-maker.  I’m grumpy more because of the diet than anything else.  I know, I know.  “Diet” is a four letter word and I should be thinking more along the lines of “lifestyle change.”

Yeah, whatever.

The fact is, regardless of lifestyle choices, cake still exists.  As long as cake exists–as well as cake-like things like brownies and doughnuts–there will be sugary confections out there that call my name every once in a while.  Most of the time, I steel myself against their siren call and shove that piece of pineapple into my mouth pretending it’s what I really want.  Sometimes, I get weak and the cake wins.  Sometimes, I eat nothing and brood over my lack of cake consumption like an insolent child.

Which makes me grumpy.

My friend Renee felt badly for me last week because of my being grounded without a vehicle and missing my Thursday meeting.  She offered to take me and I was elated–until Thursday actually arrived.  I was feeling so grumpy and down (I know!  That’s precisely what the meetings were designed for!).  Some part of me knew that if I walked into that meeting and the sweet lady sitting at the computer told me I gained even an ounce that day, I’d rip her precious little head right from her body.  So I stayed home and had a bitch-fest with my friend instead.  No cake was involved and all heads remained firmly attached, I’m happy to report.

Luckily, tomorrow is Thursday and I will be driving myself to the meeting and facing the fact that I have probably gained weight.  I was good this past week.  Mostly.  Father’s Day was a little bad.  However, here I am in the week before the dreaded period.  The five days or so that I sleep like Rip Van Winkle and find myself sitting because of back pain.  The inflammation caused by hormones causes widespread pain throughout my body, settling mostly in my joints and the small of my back.  For a woman without arthritis, who has been exercise biking herself into hysterics, walking at this time of the month is a nightmare.

I’ve heard cake is good for that.

But so is the support of my Weight Watchers group.

*sigh*

No cake for me.

medium_3553436066

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/praline3001/3553436066/”>praline3001</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Life Happens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight loss makes me grumpy

  1. Bless your heart, Sista! Sorry you’re in a funk. I’ve been in one, as well, and I have NO idea why. And goodness, I know what you mean about cake. It cures anything that ails me. ANYTHING! I’m cheering for you. We love you and miss you! It was so fun talking to you the other day!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

