Losing like a boss!

That’s right.  Losing Like a Boss.  That’s my new nickname.

I walked into that meeting tonight with a belly full of dinner convinced that my Father’s Day splurge and–confession time–the ravenous eating frenzy called Tuesday–were the ruin of my week.  I fully expected to have gained.

The nice lady behind the desk offered me some fruit, compliments of Penton’s Farm Market and I said, “No, thank you.  I just ate.”

She looked at me all cock-eyed and said, “You just ate and you’re down?”

Then I looked at her all cock-eyed and said, “Excuse me?  Did you just say I lost weight?”

Hells to the yeah, baby.  THAT is losing like a boss if I’ve ever heard it!

To what do I owe this magical weight loss?  I don’t know but I’m pinning my hopes and dreams to the exercise bike downstairs.  I began my exercise journey with a wimpy half a mile twice a day.  I am now up to a slightly less wimpy 1.6 miles twice a day with Tuesday this past week being my first 4 miles all in one day.

This weekend I plan on sending you my first Virtual Bike Adventure post celebrating my first few stops on my journey.  Like a human Garmin, I’m recalculating my distances to include my hubby in my journey.  He wanted me to take a ride to the steel plant where he works.  I told him I would but ONLY if he was nice to the Mini Mama and didn’t do bad things to her like melt her down into a beam or something.  I’d like to melt the pounds but not in a molten steel sort of way.

So keep your eyes peeled for the Mini Mama and, if you’re on a weight loss journey, keep your chin up.  If I can incorporate the “e” word into my life this late in the game there is hope for anyone!

scale

 

******PHOTO CREDIT:  This was sent to me over Facebook with no credit information.  If you know who I can credit for it, please let me know in the comments below.

 

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Losing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Losing like a boss!

  1. Yippee! I knew you’d do it! Keep it up–I mean down–you know what I mean. LOL Seriously, congrats, dear Sista. We’re cheering for you from here in Ecuador!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Thanks! I truly was shocked to find out I lost. After missing two meetings and eating like a pig I was pretty sure I had gained when I walked in there. I also earned my little silver running man medallion from WW for a six week commitment to exercise! Woot! I told Jim you said there was some cheap property in Ecuador we could buy. Talk about a cockeyed look!

Leave a Reply

