Virtual Bike Adventure Stop 1: Lake Erie Crushers

I started my weight loss journey 14 weeks ago by joining Weight Watchers.  Discouraged with the s—l—-o—-w pace of my weight loss, I did something drastic.  Well, drastic for me anyway.  I purchased a recumbent exercise bike.

In the beginning, I started off riding .5 miles a day.  I slapped myself on the back because, pathetic though the number was, it was a milestone for me.  I set out on this Virtual Bike Adventure hoping to motivate myself to ride by going somewhere with those miles I collect in the comfort of my family room.

The first stop was to my friend’s house.  Renee only lives a paltry 3 miles from my house but at .5 miles per day it took a few days to get there.  In an effort to help support me on this adventure she agreed to take a picture with the Mini Mama that I could share with my readers.

Since her super power involves educating inner city kids during the months between August and June, she thought the Mini Mama should experience how a teacher spends her summers.  No, it doesn’t involve being fanned with giant palm leaves by muscular, tan men while they feed her peeled grapes.  She spends her summers working her second job as an usher for the local minor league baseball team, the Lake Erie Crushers.  The Mini Mama got to have her photo taken with Stomper Bear, the Crushers’ mascot, at All Pro Freight Stadium, 7 miles from my house.

stomper

Special thanks to Renee (and Stomper) for their support of my weight loss efforts!  It means a lot to me and truly does help make this trek down Weight Loss Lane a little easier.

******I am now up to 4 miles per day on the bike!  I only take off days when my PCOS is kicking my butt, which is usually a week to a week and a half each month.  The only exception to that was the past week or so because–like the klutz that I am–I sprained my ankle while walking.  Luckily, it wasn’t as bad as the last time I sprained it and wound up in a walking cast for twelve weeks.  After I rested the ankle, I got right back on that bike.  I have collected enough miles to have traveled through the cities of Avon, Westlake, Lakewood and Cleveland.  My next update will be from Charter Steel, the plant where my husband works as an electrician.

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Virtual Bike Adventure Stops and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Virtual Bike Adventure Stop 1: Lake Erie Crushers

  1. Beth Ann says:

    That is soooo awesome! Good for you and keep it up!!! You can do this!!!

  2. Okay, this is really cool, Sista! To increase your distance by 8 times is huge! Seriously. Think about it. Were you to do that again, you’d be at 32 miles a day. Keep at is, my dear! We love you here in Ecuador.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  3. judithhb says:

    well done. What a great effort and well worth celebrating. As Kathy says increasing your distance by 5 times is amazing. At that rate you’ll soon be in New Zealand.

Leave a Reply

