My favorite kind of water weight

Twice this week we took the boys swimming.  I love going to the pool and dream of the day I can own my own.  I’ve been a water dog since I was a little kid and summer means nothing if I can’t go to the pool a few times.

I'll take one of these, please.  Landscaping included.

I’ll take one of these, please. Landscaping included.

This was our first foray into swimming this year because of the lovely monsoon season here in Ohio.  Nothing puts a damper on water fun like the heavens opening up and taking a giant dump repeatedly.

When I’m in the pool, I am never still.  I’m not someone who leisurely floats and tries not to get my hair wet.  I’m an overgrown kid in the pool.  Sunday, while I did my crunches, ran in place, walked and did leg lifts–all under water– I said to my hubby, Jim, “Watch Thursday roll around and I lose weight like a boss.”

“Don’t do that to yourself.  Just hope you lose like one or two pounds.  Hoping for more sounds like setting yourself up for failure.”

I just rolled my eyes at him because I’m NOTHING without my delusions of grandeur.

Well, it’s Thursday, folks and I feel the desire to get a tattoo that says “Like A Boss!”  Because of my time in the water, I lost a whopping five pounds this week!  Even the nice lady that weighs me was shocked.  Her mouth hung open a little which gave me heart palpitations and sent my ego soaring.  She asked if I’d like to share it in the celebration time during the meeting.  I said yes and did a little dance right there in the lobby.  No one seemed to notice.  That, or they were too polite to stare.

Sadly, I only racked up a weak amount of miles on the bike, but I’ll take that weak number over a weak one on the scale!

So, tomorrow it’s off to add two new charms to my bracelet, one for each kiddo.  And don’t think for one second that I won’t be swimming next week.  I hit my Week 17 commitment next Thursday and am hoping to make it to at least an even 17 pound weight loss.  I only have 6/10 of a pound to lose to make that happen.  I’ll make sure I tinkle before stepping on the scale.

Who knows.  Maybe, just maybe, I’ll blow that number out of the water, too!

 

photo credit: ARNOLD Masonry and Concrete via photopin cc

 

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Losing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My favorite kind of water weight

  1. Woohoo! Winning!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

