Weight Loss Tools: Why the big picture is what matters

Some of my regular readers will have noticed by now that I got rid of two boxes from my sidebar.  The boxes that are missing updated readers to what my weight loss was so far and what, if any, amount of weight I had lost that week.  I used to concentrate, and, if I’m being honest, obsess over those numbers–so much so that facing them would keep me from writing on this blog.  If I don’t see them I don’t have to own up to you about my failures.  I quickly came to realize quite a bit about those numbers.

First, those numbers were only one small part of my weight loss journey.  Secondly, they are not a true reflection of what I’ve got going on.

I know it sounds like an excuse, but stick with me.

English: Picture of a common measuring tape in...

 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I went to my meeting last week to find that the scale said I’d gone up in weight, and I do not doubt that I weighed what the scale said I did.   However, a few things happened that made me think the scale, however correct, isn’t telling the whole story.  That previous weekend I did something I hadn’t done in years:  Take in my pants.  I had to dart them about an inch and a half because they were literally falling off of me.  That amounts to lost inches.  Then an even more exciting thing happened.  I had to move my car seat forward.  Granted, I didn’t have to move it forward very far, but….HELLO!….FORWARD!

It got me thinking that I am beating myself up over something small.  When I finally accepted that I am more than a number, I began to realize that torturing myself with it was (1) ridiculous and (2) setting myself up for failure.

One thing my leader Lynn is always telling us is that we are so much meaner to ourselves than we would be to others.  I know I’ve got to be kinder to myself.  If I know that, then I also have to know that the big picture is what matters.

In the short run, I’m up a pound.

In the long run, I’ve darted pants and moved a seat forward.

Winners look at the war, not the battle.

I’m winning the war.

How ’bout you?

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Gaining and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weight Loss Tools: Why the big picture is what matters

  1. ree says:

    I am so proud of you and so happy for you! And also, a good reminder for the rest of us fighting that same war. It’s easy to get pissed at the number on the scale until you remember the smaller battles . . . the pants too big and moving up the seat! You go girl!!

  2. Non Scale Victories can definitely be the best! Congrats! I can remember how pumped I was when I had to move my car seat forward. 🙂

  3. No pun intended, but this is HUGE victory! And what great insight, dear Sista! Like Renee, I, too, am so proud of you. Keep up the good work. You are, indeed, winning the war!!!!!!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • In a perfect world I’d be able to lose weight easily, but I’ve come to embrace the imperfectness that is me. I’ve got to start following my own advice and truly listening to that support I receive from people like you, Sista! Thanks so much for your loyalty and love!

  4. You’ve probably already seen this, but your comment about us being harder on ourselves reminded me of it. Dimples’ health teacher showed it in class as they are learning about self-esteem right now. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpaOjMXyJGk&feature=c4-overview-vl&list=PL0BRaXBPJ6iZMJoRM9TFRc2Mq4d0KmKqZ

Leave a Reply

