Reflections

My last post stirred up quite a bit in my readers and in me.  The outpouring of support I get from this blog is so wonderfully amazing.  You all truly make this so much more worth it for me.

Speaking of worth, a recent reader of this blog, Danielle at So Much Fattitude, has so inspired me to look at what I’m worth.  I struggle with this every second of every day.  I’ve never thought of myself as pretty, ever.  I never would describe myself as sexy or talented or even smart.  I carry my self-esteem in a bucket beside me, that’s how very un-connected to it I am.  It is extremely hard for me to take a compliment of any kind simply because I don’t see myself that way.

My recent struggles on the scale amplify those thoughts in me.  That is part of the reason I have chosen not to look at those numbers and to not let them have the power over me that they certainly do not deserve.  Danielle’s blog really hit home when I read her recent post (read for yourself here).  This quote reverberated to my very soul:  The number on the scale reflects your numerical relationship with gravity–not your self-worth, your talent, your sex appeal, your humor, your purpose, your life.  

Wow.

Just wow.

Then my long time blog friend, Mrs. Cap’n Firepants over at whatimeant2say posted a link in her comment.  Her daughter viewed this video in school, and I have three things to say about it.

1.  She has one awesome teacher.

2.  Mrs. Cap’n Firepants is awesome for sharing it.

3.  It is powerfully moving and brought me to tears.

Check it out.

Again, a heartfelt thank you to all my readers, especially Danielle and the wonderful Mrs. C.  Your support keeps me going, in weight loss, in writing and in growing to be a better person.

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Life Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reflections

  1. Wow! That was a quick turn-around! Just so you know, you inspire me much more than this video 😉

  2. Okay, Sista, the quote from your blog buddy about weight only being a number that expresses our relationship to gravity is incredibly empowering. What wisdom! I know it’s scientific fact, but I’m shocked not to have heard ANYONE say it before. Simply brilliant. And the video was amazing, as well.

    I love your journey. I love being your friend. I love you!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • You are so very kind, Sista! That quote and video just knocked my socks off! You are so right. Her blog is very inspiring…..I love you, too and am so glad that we are friends. I truly value your friendship.

  3. I am truly flattered. Thank you beyond words for this. Personally, loving myself was the most important and best step I took in my journey, though also the hardest. Embracing my flaws and finding beauty in them has made me a much stronger person. I remember the first time I saw the Dove video and was blown away. ❤

Leave a Reply

