Wrestling, in more ways than one

As you’ve noticed, I’ve been away for a while.  My oldest son began wrestling for his school in November.  Neither he nor I had the first clue what that commitment entailed.  What was supposed to be something that would give him an outlet quickly swallowed all of us whole.

Did you know that they wrestle five days a week and have a tournament nearly every Saturday?  Tournaments last ALL day.  Jimmy had to be dropped off by 5:30 a.m.  I would go home and wrangle the rest of the family after packing snacks and lunch.  One tournament lasted until 8:00 p.m.  Exhausting.

We recently attended Jimmy’s last tournament for the season.  Because this is his first year, Jimmy lost all of his matches.  His coach warned him that this would happen, that he needed to focus on improving his skills.  He did well over the course of the season on improving his stance and endurance, all good things for a budding wrestler.  However, each time Jimmy lost a match, I’d see the defeat in his eyes and I’d cry.  During his very last wrestling match I prayed that my son could have just one win.  Just one.  Well, my prayer was answered because Jimmy did win, by a pin.  He was very humble about his win and shook his opponent’s hand and thanked his coaches, but the joy in his eyes caused me to not just cry, but sob.  Tony quickly said, “Geez, Mom.  If you make it to Weight Watchers this week you’ll have lost ten pounds in just tears!”

If only.

The awesome part of the whole thing was that we packed our food.  The options for sale at these events were garbage.  Okay, yummy garbage like pizza and doughnuts and candy bars and nachos and….

Luckily, we packed grapes and raisins, turkey sandwiches and carrots and lots of water.IMG_1541

But this sort of grueling schedule complicates an already complicated schedule.  With all the wrestling stuff we also had to wrestle with the health issues of our dog, Rosie.  She had grown these horrible abscesses on her back and neck.  Our first vet said they were nothing to worry about.  He said they may leak, but we had nothing to be concerned about.  Well, the day before Thanksgiving the largest one on her back burst and she had to be taken in for emergency surgery.  My poor girl came back home completely out of it, drooling, shaking and with no control over her bladder or bowels.  The abscesses took two months to heal and broke open several times, requiring rounds and rounds of medication and creams.  She just got done going through her second surgery to correct the problem this week.  I’m happy to report that she is doing so much better this time.  The first time had us worried that our 10 year-old girl was traveling down the end road.  This time, she’s her usual spunky self.  Hope is in the air.

So, we are on the cusp of a normal schedule.  Wrestling season is over.  Rosie is recovering so much better this time.  This means I’ll be able to attend my meetings normally again.  Woo hoo!

I’m excited because I believe in the importance of attending my meetings.  I believe they help me stay focused and motivated.  For an introvert like me, they also force me out of my shell.  What isn’t good about any of that?

 

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Life Happens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wrestling, in more ways than one

  1. GOSH, I’m SOOOOOO glad that Jimmy had a win! Damn, if that kid doesn’t deserve it, I don’t know who does. And good for you for packing healthy snacks. That’s not easy, especially when your schedule is so busy.

    And thank God Rosie is feeling better. Poor baby!

    And, finally, congratulations on that other BIG win in your writing life! I’m so happy for you!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Miranda Gargasz says:

      Thanks, Kathy! It’s been a busy and tumultuous few months. I’m so glad that things are slowing down. Whew! I am REALLY enjoying all the pics Sara is sharing from your expat life. You seem to be surrounded by art!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Rosie is so adorable and you are taking such good care of her. Good for Jimmy for his win—it does a mama’s heart good, that is for sure.
    Amazon told me my books shipped!!! Cant’ wait to get the paperback copy in my hot little hands to send to you to sign!!! Thanks a million!

    • Miranda Gargasz says:

      Thank YOU, Beth Ann! Folks like you keep me going. As a writer, I’m so insecure. It helps me keep chugging along………I was so happy to see him win. He really needed it. Rosie is already her old spunky self, just three days post surgery. She’s definitely a fighter!

Leave a Reply

