What matters this week

Let’s be honest.  When a person has a high number of pounds to lose the big picture can be overwhelming.  So overwhelming that it can make a person freeze in their tracks.  My number is that kind of number.

I get so discouraged when I think of that number that I want to quit.  But I can’t.  I know that.  I also know that attending that weekly meeting is what makes or breaks this Plus Size Mama’s success.

So many things get in the way of that meeting–dog surgery, kid taxiing, and weather.  I’ve got one other issue that makes it tough, one I struggle with every moment of the day.

Agoraphobia.

Nothing major, just a slight case.  It’s why I arrive at things that will be crowded so early.  I like to find my hiding spot before the event begins.  It’s why I sit in the corner where I can see everyone at all times.  I’m not anti-social on purpose.  I’m just a bit of an odd duck.  I won’t lie. The crowded room is what keeps me from entering if I’m late.  It’s what keeps me from speaking up most of the time.

But it’s also a part of me that needs work that Weight Watchers is helping me take care of without even knowing it.  I took my kids with me once and my youngest was so angry with me for not speaking up.  He said to me, “Mom, you lost weight this week you should raise your hand and get some applause.  Look how happy those people are!”  I just shook my head.  A few minutes later he said, “Mom, why are you so shy?  These people here are all so nice!”

“Yes, Tony, I know.”

And he’s right.

They are all so very nice and supportive.  Every meeting I go to I’m made to feel nothing less than extremely welcome.  Most people greet me with a smile and ask about my family, or my writing goals, or simply about getting my butt back in the building (Thanks, Stacy!).  And I need all of it.

What matters this week is that I went to that meeting.  I got out of the house.  I went to the new center (AWESOME!) and met with my weight loss buddies (EVEN MORE AWESOME) and had a great time.  My leader, Lynn (COVERED IN AWESOME SAUCE) even gave a shout out about my book to everyone, which made me cry a few happy tears.

What matters is that we are all in this together, whether our numbers are huge or small, attainable or overwhelming.  We’ve all got to be the inspiration that drags another person through that door, that links our arm in theirs and says, “We can do this.”

Did you notice that “we?”  WE can do this.  No one has to do it alone.

That’s what the meetings are all about.

That’s what matters.

index

 

 

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Life Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What matters this week

  1. Beth Ann says:

    We is so much stronger than I. So happy for you, Miranda. Slow and steady. And look at the book–you have done it. You are awesome. Go!!!!

    • Thanks, Beth Ann! Everything seems so much more tackle-able when it’s a we instead of an I. I think you should publish a teapot book! You should travel to all the teapot places (like that building in China) and write about them. Include pics. I bet there’s an audience for it.

      • Beth Ann says:

        Well….I don’t know about that but it would be a fun thing for me to think about. I think there are many amazing things out there waiting to be written about —teapots may be one of them.

  2. Sorry to be so late getting here, Sista. But I’m so glad you made it to your meeting this week. You’re right it’s much easier for US to accomplish things when we don’t try to do it alone. Hang in there, sweetie. Your book is awesome!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

