Step by step

I am enjoying the “we” in weight loss so much more than I thought I would.

Hanging this on my fridge helps me realize who I really answer to when I make poor choices.

Hanging this on my fridge helps me realize who I really answer to when I make poor choices.

As I shared last week, I joined a team in my Weight Watchers meeting that revolves around pedometers.  The goal is to get to 10,000 steps (or more, if you’re a beast of a walker!) each day.  Let’s just say I am not getting 10,000 steps a day.  However, I am getting some steps and tracking those.   I think there is a benefit right now in just being conscious of how much I am moving and making an effort to move more.

Diane, the lady who runs our Facebook page, is so happy and bubbly and it has a tendency to rub off on you!  She posts motivational memes and reminds all of us to stay on track.  I enjoy using Facebook to keep in touch with friends I don’t see regularly and as a marketing tool for my new book, but more often than not it sits in the background as I work, beeping at me whenever someone comments or messages me.  It’s nice to know throughout the day that there’s someone out there willing to give me a virtual nudge in the right direction in the form of a small beep that gets my attention.  When you spend a majority of your day banging around inside your own head like I do, writing, writing, writing, that little beep is a reminder that there’s something outside your head that requires your attention, too.  I get so wrapped up in my writing and caring for my family that my own goals fall somewhere near the bottom of my “To Do” list.  That little beep helps me to be aware of the moments I can move myself up a notch or two.

My biggest problem with my new team?  Me.  I’m scatterbrained.  I’m up about 5:30 a.m. most mornings and I hit the floor running.  It isn’t until 9 a.m., after the last kiddo is packed off and dropped off at school that I sit down at my computer, check my email, respond and send more, research marketing tips (must do 5 every day) and check in on Facebook.  Lo and behold, Diane has posted something motivational.  I remember then to clip on the pedometer because I forget EVERY SINGLE MORNING.  Then Lynn, our leader, posts something else motivational.  And that’s when I remember to go to the fridge and put the bottle of water next to my laptop.  Inevitably, someone shares an awesome recipe that is SO bad for points that I know it’s time to get to that editing I’ve been putting off.  I minimize the screen and work away until I see another post has popped up from Diane.  She’s shared her Wii dancing score.  Because shame is a great motivator, I know it’s time to get up and move my moneymaker, too.

Like I said.  I’m loving the “we” in weight loss.

About Miranda Gargasz

Miranda Gargasz is a freelance writer. Many of her essays can be found on sites like ScaryMommy, The Christian Science Monitor and The Huffington Post. In 2014, she published Lemonade and Holy Stuff. She is also a contributor to Only Trollops Shave Above the Knee, and Lose the Cape: Never Will I Ever. She is currently working on a book about the realities of weight loss entitled Plus Size Mama, due out in 2016..
This entry was posted in Life Happens, Losing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Step by step

  1. aberka32 says:

    I love it too!! 🙂

  2. Love this description of your day. I just love little windows into people’s lives, especially the ones I love. And a great last line to this post, Sista. I love the “we” in anything. Community rocks. Now I need to get up off my ass and move! LOL

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Miranda Gargasz says:

      Getting the gumption up for anything is hard. I hate it, but it’s easier when there is a fear that I’ll let someone down. You would know all about community rocking with all those new friends you’ve made in your new country!

  3. It’s always easier to lose with friends! 🙂 I downloaded a pedometer on my phone, but I always forget to turn it on!

  4. Miranda Gargasz says:

    Good to know I’m not alone in the forgetfulness department!

Leave a Reply

